earth2mongo

Writer, singer Mike Whitney, makes his debut at the cavalcadeofstars this week.

Getting Caught in the Rain
By Mike Whitney

Traffic was bad due to the rain: I ran panting the last 100 yards to my gate in the T terminal just in time to see them shut the door to the jet way and rope off the area. I felt sick, angry and scared: my job was on the line, people were waiting on the other end, and I had no excuse for not leaving home sooner.

The young woman at the ticket counter listened to my sad story and picked up the phone, spoke while looking at me, then she smiled. Of course, before I boarded, I fell to one knee and proposed on the spot. She accepted after I nearly missed three more flights, each with another gate proposal: it lasted two years and we divorced because of the travel.

So, if you like pina coladas….

Get a Crib
By Mike Whitney

I sat down on the bus stop bench with my morning paper and coffee, failing to notice the two babies, one in pink, one in blue, sitting at the other end of the bench. Suddenly I heard this odd sound, of two people talking, except the voices were childlike, literally infantile,

“We can’t keep meeting like this. Kevin suspects, I’m almost positive.”

“And what about Marlene? She trusts me completely….”

The apparently male baby noticed me staring, “Can I help you, pal?”

“Excuse me?”

“Get a life, buddy. If I could walk, I’d be all over you like a cheap suit.”

The bus arrived, I got on, and not a moment too soon: I watched out the window as we pulled away – the infants were embracing, except their little arms couldn’t reach around completely, like tiny sumo wrestlers in toed sleepers, and I started to laugh. Everyone on the bus turned to look at me; every single passenger was a baby. I put my thumb in my mouth and began to cry.

By Any Other Name
By Mike Whitney

Rose wore red – it worked: Gary finally felt love beating within him like a hammer on his heart. She smiled through him and walked away, leaving the blood-dark memory of a love that had no end, no beginning.

The image of her stayed with him as he entered the bank and walked to the customer service desk where Rose sat stunned and staring at him as he pulled his gun and shouted, “This is a hold-up… everybody on the floor, NOW !”

The security guard behind him shouted to drop the gun. His revolver was aimed and cocked as Gary turned, smiling. “Rose,” he whispered, and suddenly pointed his empty weapon at the guard.

Bio
Mike has been writing stories he read elsewhere for almost 60 years, and he’s really starting to get the hang of it. He posts daily to his blogs and writes a weekly column for his local paper, the Clay County Progress. Visit one: http://stayonthehill.blogspot.com/

About vision791

Jeanette has been published on several online writing sites and in fourteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published eight ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to earth2mongo

  1. Quin Browne says:

    By Any Other Name?

    Wicked.

  2. Diana E. Backhouse says:

    Now if I could just get into your mind!
    No, on second thoughts, that’s probably not such a good idea.

  3. mdjb says:

    Entertaining fruit salad. The babies had me rolling, and when you said you felt scared, I imagined you did. The other two were terrific, but the babies…ah, I’m still laughing.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Great Stories!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Oh, Previous comment was from Dan W.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Loved ‘em – xo, nb

  7. vision791 says:

    Mike, you never seem to tire. Entertainment is your specialty. I get a kick out of your songs on UTUBE. Thank you for debuting this week.

  8. Mike, reading you always elevates me and it doesn’t matter what kind of a day I’m having, after one or more of your tales I am happy as a lark!

Comments are closed.