The Coffee Note By Jo Prescott

The Coffee Note was originally featured at Thinking Ten A Writers Playground 2010

My coffee was cold and I had a choice, abandon it and catch the 1:40 or drink it and catch the 2:00. My feet were cold too and I had just decided to stay where I sat on the floor hunched over my tiny notebook, when I remembered I wanted to go to the store. I still had a minute, so I jumped up grabbing my notebook. The cover fell open and out slipped an envelope.

I knelt down and picked it up as though it were on fire. I slipped my finger under the seal. The paper resisted, but then it snapped and with a deep breath I freed the tiny slip of paper from deep inside.

The edges were torn. I could barely make out half a coupon for a free coffee when you bought one coffee and muffin. I took another breath and turned the weak paper over.

Dear One Sugar, Milk and a Hint of Cocoa,

I haven’t seen you in the café. You use to come in every day but it’s been weeks. I didn’t realize it until you stopped coming, but I use to watch you sip your coffee and write in your notebook. I use to wonder what you wrote. What made you smile? Making your coffee was the highlight of my afternoon back then and I never told you because I always thought you’d be back tomorrow. Today you came in, not in the afternoon but at night with your friend, the one with the loud laugh. And I couldn’t let you leave again without telling you that I think about you – all the time. I see the way you try to hide in the corner, even with your friend. I see you blush when people took at her laughing. I know you think that you’re invisible. But I see you. I don’t want to make you uncomfortable or anything and I hope you won’t feel weird about ordering your coffee. But I’d rather you know and hate me, then never know at all.

I love making your coffee, maybe you’d let me buy you one sometime.

I left my cold coffee and ran for the bus.

Bio

JM Prescott writes outside the lines; whether it is for Halogen TV, Tomato Can Consulting or private clients – she also manages writing contests for ChiZine Publications and is editor-in-chief of The Glass Coin. She is currently moving across Canada, from the Muskokas to the Rockies, in search of things she’s never done before.
http://jmprescott.blogspot.com/
http://theglasscoin.com/

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Coffee Note By Jo Prescott

  1. vision791 says:

    Thanks Jo, for sharing your work with us.

  2. Jo, I hadn’t read this before today! I would have ended this the same way!!! Wonderful, anticipatory/hopeful build-up! (Can you tell I like this?)
    -Denise

  3. gita8 says:

    Jo, I liked this when I read it the first time because the whole secret admirer thing is so delicious. And especially because she so nearly managed to miss the note.
    But I had to wonder how he managed to write so many words on a “tiny” piece of paper.

  4. Jo, I have never read a story you’ve written that I did not enjoy. You are quite gifted!

  5. A splendid tale, as ever

  6. pauldbrazill says:

    Smashing story.

  7. Man, did she “perk up”.

    Way to go Jo. Nice to meet the enthuse of the muse of your writings.
    ~ Absolutely*Kate

Comments are closed.