Blown Away

Blown Away
By Jeanette Cheezum

I had just left work. A huge man had raced up behind me, but dropped to the pavement when gunshots ripped through him. Aroused by fear goose bumps crawled over my arms and up my neck. Panic spread throughout my body as the car sped away. Had he tried to warn me? Adrenalin ripped through me.
In an instant I ran back into the building and called security. An alarm sounded when they heard my plea.
I wasted no time and bolted back to my car. I thought no one had seen what happened, but Mrs. Shultz our receptionist had. She clung to her steering wheel and blew the horn non stop.
I peeled out of the parking garage and headed home. Tom had said he was on his way home, earlier. I pounded number one on speed dial, why didn’t he answer? He would know what to do.
Thank God traffic was light. No! His car wasn’t in the driveway.
I parked on the street, locked the car door and ran inside.
Before I could set my purse and briefcase down a loud sound reverberated from the kitchen. Glass shattered, with great force and filled the hallway outside that area with chards and food.
Maybe those same men from that car were after me. Footsteps sped across the hardwood floors upstairs and forced me to hide under the downstairs bed.
Another explosion lifted the bed and I was flung out the window and into the yard. Reality flooded my brain.
Nothing else mattered but the fact that I needed to get away. My life depended on it. I landed hard in a mental fog and couldn’t move. Only loud voices echoed as I went in and out of consciousness.
Why wasn’t Tom beside me? Since the bed had been booby trapped, what else had they done? Was he still in the house? Or lying in a gutter somewhere?

The Emergency medical team loaded me into the ambulance and closed the door. A needle shoved into my vein startled me. Calm hovered over me. I let go, escaped into deep sleep;
until the overhead light framed his face. Who were these people and why were they after me? Didn’t they know Carter had the chip?
The faceless intruder ran his hands up and down my body. I wanted him to leave me alone. Now his nasty fingers were in my mouth. My mind screamed, but he was too involved to hear me.
Tom, where are you? Make him go away.
No one rushed into the ER to claim me. I heard the monitors blare. Someone yelled “clear!”

First published on The Helium Network 2008

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blown Away

  1. harrybsanderford says:

    Wow! Wild ride Jay C!

  2. Lydia says:

    Woww…. I love this very, very interesting story Jeanette!

Comments are closed.