Bobbie Troy

This week Pushcart nominee Bobbie Troy makes her debut at cavalcadeofstars.

The Old Age Repository
By Bobbie Troy

Wake up, Grandma. We’re here.
Huh, huh? Oh, ya mean the old age repository?
Grandma, please. It will be ok. You’ll see. Look how pretty is it up there on the hill.
I still can’t believe yur doin’ this ta me, Sonny. I practically raised ya up. Now yur dumpin’ me off like so much garbage. That’s all I am ta ya? Ok, Ok. Have it yur way. Get on home now. At least ya’ve still got a home ta go ta.

Granny, we went all over this. Look at your leg. It’s broken in five places. If I hadn’t stopped by your place after work, you’d be dead by now. I just couldn’t leave you alone any more.

Yeah, well. Maybe dead is better than dumped.
******************************************
Hi, Mr. Johnson. Before you go up to see your Grandmother, I would like to talk to you. Please come into my office.

Thank you, Doctor. What is it? Is Grandma OK? Does she like it here? She can be stubborn if she sets her mind against something.

Well, she’s ok. Physically, that is. But mentally she’s having a hard time adjusting. She’s aloof, and well, I’m afraid she’s retreated into another reality. That’s fairly common with newcomers to our facility. But she should get over it in time and adjust perfectly fine. So for now, just go along with whatever she says.

Yes, Doctor, I guess you know best. But I really don’t know what you’re talking about.
******************************************
Hi, Grandma. Your room looks nice with all your pictures out. I brought you some candy. Grandma, aren’t you going to say hi?

Why should I? I’m busy. We’re outta control. Spinnin’ outta orbit. I’m tryin’ ta reach mission control to redirect our flight path, but nobody answers. So I have ta keep tryin’. Mission control, mission control, this is Granny123. Do ya read me? Do ya read me? I repeat, this is Granny123. Come in, mission control.

Look, just leave the candy, Sonny. I don’t have time fur ya right now.

But Grandma, I came to visit all the way from the city. You know how long that takes. I want to make sure you’re happy here. How’s the food? Have you made any friends?

Mission control, mission control. Do ya read me? This is Granny123. I repeat, this is Granny123. Come in, mission control.

Grandma, stop this nonsense. This isn’t a spaceship. It’s the Hillview Old Age Home. You know that. Now stop being silly. You know I love you, but I had no choice.

I don’t know nuthin’ but this is an old age repository that’s outta orbit an’ outta control. Just flingin’ out space garbage every day. One comes in, one goes out. Garbage in, space garbage out. Nothin’ more, Sonny. But when I get control, I’m gonna aim this baby at all the houses of all the relatives that dumped their loved ones in this old age repository. A smart meteor. That’s what it ‘ill be. A smart meteor that self-destructs after it’s done the job. Then none of us ‘ill have nuthin’ to worry about.

Mission control, mission control, this is Granny123. Do ya read me?

BODY IN THE BATHROOM
By Bobbie Troy

We didn’t realize he had followed us into the building. So when we opened the apartment door and he shoved us in, we were totally freaked out.

He had a gun. I remember he just pointed it in the direction he wanted us to go—
into the kitchen—and shoved us into the chairs.

My mind was racing. I remember thinking how the white walls were such a stark contrast to the blood I could already see.

I wondered why Jason and I had gone to the deli and left Robbie sleeping. Something we’d never done before. I prayed that he’d keep on sleeping—through everything.

At first, we thought it was going to be robbery. But it was weird. He didn’t say anything, didn’t ask for anything. Just kept pointing the gun at us.

He looked around the kitchen, still silent.
Jason and I made eye contact, but quickly looked away, afraid of what he might do.

Suddenly, as if to answer us, he held the gun out to Jason and said, “Kill me, please. Just kill me.”

What the hell was this? Some kind of weird suicide mission? More like an existential nightmare.

Time stopped. I finally understood the meaning of that sentence. We couldn’t move.

Jason wasn’t about to try anything, and neither was I. We just waited and waited for the gun to fire.

Suddenly, he was walking toward the bathroom. Not Robbie’s room.

I remember thinking: this freakin’ idiot was going to kill himself in our bathroom, and there wasn’t a damn thing we could do about it.

Loneliness
by Bobbie Troy

when the silence of the heart
competes with
the silence of the room
the full measure of loneliness
descends
pushing happiness
out the door

Dear Diane
by Bobbie Troy

Originally published 10/6/2009 on http://www.voxpoetica.com
Nominated by Annmarie Lockhart, editor, for the 2010 Pushcart Prize

if you remember
i think it was in some strange court in tasmania
or maybe in your kitchen/our kitchen over coffee
that you took out your precious written thoughts

and pushed the sugar my way
if you remember
i think it was in your kitchen/our kitchen in the afternoon sunlight
that you let me see the back of your head/heart
and the reasons behind, the contacts with
all the things that didn’t let you be free

and I got up to get the milk from the frig

if you remember
i think it was in the middle of a fresh pot of coffee
after so many cups of instant
that we realized where we were in terms of each other
and what we were

and sometime during all that
you gave me a new coffee mug

Bio

Bobbie Troy maintains her sanity and perspective on life by writing flash fiction, poetry, and original fairy tales with a 21st century twist. Her work appears online and in print: Concise Delight Magazine of Short Poetry, Issue 1; Vox Poetica; SPARK, an art and writing project; Haiku Ramblings; Caper Literary Journal; Leaf Garden Press; the Journal of Liberal Arts and Education; Referential Magazine; Yes, Poetry; cavalcadeofstars. Her poem, Dear Diane, was nominated for a 2010 Pushcart Prize (http://www.aliceshapiro.com/thechangeinterviews.html). Her fairy-tale play, Sasha and the Tree of Sorrows, was produced in March 2011.

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Bobbie Troy

  1. Another bravura performance by the inimitable Bobbie Troy!! Fantastic!

  2. Gita says:

    wonderful and versatile.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thank you, Annmarie and Gita. This is the first flash fiction that I have had published so that’s very exciting!

  4. Madam Z says:

    “Old Age Repository” made a dent in my gut. “Granny123” could have been my stepmother, whom I “dumped” in one of those repositories a few years ago. Like the woman in this story, I truly believed there was no other choice, but “Mom” was so miserable in that place, it would have been better to let her die at home.

  5. bobbietroy says:

    Ok, I’m really not anonymous, I just typed too fast! Thank you everyone. Yes, The Old Age Repository is something a lot of us can relate to.

  6. Fran says:

    The story lines of the flash fiction were perfect, interesting, fascinating. Good job. The poetry from Ms. Troy is always expressive, descriptive and always hits home. Great job.

  7. jd young says:

    Being able to write flash fiction is a true gift – being able to garner the deepest of emotions from a poem like Loneliness is a talent granted to few. Your poetry provokes intensity from your readers. Terrific work Bobbie.

  8. MA Morrison says:

    Bobbi – You are extraordinary-I am growing from your example; sometimes less is more.

  9. boltoncarley says:

    the thoughts involved with old age were wrapped up in a bow on this one. the dialogue was great! and the story about the non-robber was so suspenseful and her thoughts at the end so accurate. great stuff!

  10. jack says:

    Bobbi, I always look forward to your poems. You can elicit more emotion and visual energy in such an economy of verse and deftly chosen words. I expect one day you will write a three word poem that will send us crying into next week. Bravo.

  11. Anonymous says:

    in a flash: inspiring
    look forward to more.

  12. Caryn says:

    Bobbi Troy has an inspiring talent. Keep up the good work.

  13. bobbietroy says:

    Wow, these comments will definitely keep me going for a long time. I thank you one and all and especially those of you in my Pen-to-Paper writers group. And Jack, I actually have written a 3-word poem that i have not submitted anywhere yet.

  14. Stephanie says:

    Wonderful & inspiring work, Bobbie!

  15. Pingback: DC Does Fiction « Debbi Mack: My Life on the Mid-List

  16. Bobbie, I am very pleased you chose cavalcadeofstars to spread your wings. Flash fiction is another avenue for you to travel.

  17. bobbietroy says:

    Thank you, Jeanette. This has been a wonderful experience for me. Your website is great, and I am fortunate to be part of it.

Comments are closed.