Merry Christmas, My Love

We have only one poem for this holiday week but it speaks volumes.

Merry Christmas, My Love
By Bobbie Troy

I look over my shoulder
and another year has passed
without you

I gently wipe the
newly fallen snow
from your grave

and whisper
into the cold morning air
Merry Christmas, My Love

Originally published 12/24/2009 on Vox Poetica: http://poemblog.voxpoetica.com/2009/12/24/merry-christmas-my-love.aspx

Bio
Bobbie Troy maintains her sanity and perspective on life by writing flash fiction, poetry, and original fairy tales. Her work appears in many online and print journals, including Vox Poetica website and anthologies; SPARK; Caper Literary Journal; Leaf Garden Press; Fussy Face; Referential Magazine; Yes, Poetry; Cavalcade of Stars; The Journal of Microliterature; The Camel Saloon; and more. Her poem, Dear Diane, was nominated for a 2010 Pushcart Prize (http://www.aliceshapiro.com/thechangeinterviews.html).

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Merry Christmas, My Love

  1. Jeanette Gallagher says:

    I like your poem, Bobbie. I love the imagery and having lost two husbands many years ago, I was at the grave side as I read this poignant poem. Thank you. Jeanette G.

    • bobbie troy says:

      Thanks, Jeanette. I think a lot of folks can relate to this poem. I am so sorry to hear about your husbands. I am fortunate to still have mine, but I have lost a lot of relatives since 2004.
      bobbie

  2. spakravan says:

    Aren’t they with us always, every Christmas, the loved ones now gone that used to celebrate with us?
    Lovely poem, Bobbie, and indeed you have accomplished a lot since that first one. Bravo!

  3. boltoncarley says:

    it makes me think of an old song. so few words and yet, so meaningful. well said.

  4. bobbie troy says:

    Thank you, everyone!

  5. Bobbie, your work gives voice to many for whom this season is not festive. Lovely work, lovingly rendered!

  6. bobbie troy says:

    Thanks, again, everyone!

Comments are closed.