Amy Huffman

A.J. Huffman is a poet and freelance writer in Daytona Beach, Florida. She has previously published four collections of poetry: The Difference Between Shadows and Stars, Carrying Yesterday, Cognitive Distortion, and . . . And Other Such Nonsense. She has also published her work in national and international literary journals such as Avon Literary Intelligencer, Writer’s Gazette, and The Penwood Review. Find more about A.J. Huffman, including additional information and links to her work at http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000191382454 and https://twitter.com/#!/poetess222.

Twenty Shades of Jade
You cannot hide
from someone who wants
to see you.
From eyes
that can strip
even the clouds
of their white.
What a fright
ful thought.

Especially when you know
your lining
is more tarnish
than you care to admit.

Secrets of Clay
You’ve got blue lipstick
on your collar.
And a song
I don’t remember
on your mind.
So I am confused.
Into silence.
Too afraid
to cry.
I know — too well —
the next pain
your hands decide to play.
May just be the form
that decides to stay.

Horizontal
Drag the blanket
sightless
from my chest.
It never rally covers anything
anyway.
I am always cold.
Even in its folds.
Of forgiving blindness?
I have met no eyes
that believe me possible.
And I am overlooked.
Even naked in the night.
Grossly glowing.
A moonless goddess
till the end.
And that too must read
tragedy.
There is no hero left.
That can survive
the color
of my touch.

From the Bottom of the Pool

I am cracking.
Like a mirror
without a space
to reflect.
Useless.
I am a rusting weapon.
Ignorant
of the desire
oozing from my own wrists.
I cover my eyes.
But blindness is refused.
I am cursed by the light.
Magnified now.
In the emptiness
of my smile.

He Sleeps Her Dreams
She reaches out
to touch his calm.
As the last star
takes its watch.

Then she slips
quietly
from his side.

And in the lightest corner
of this darkened room.
She waits.
Putting pen to paper.
Weaving his dreams
through the folds.

She watches him,
with tired eyes,
as he breathes them.
And troubled
or mute,
she gathers them all.

In turn.
For him.
To praise
at dawn.

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Amy Huffman

  1. vision791 says:

    Amy, it has been a pleasure to have you debut at cavalcadeofstars.

Comments are closed.