Mitchell Grabois

Thoughts After Washing Sheets

I married Dr. Manhattan,
married the dull scalpel,
I married Saran Wrap’s ultimate beauty,
in the box with the cutter that slides so effortlessly,
I married flowers that never die despite my wishes,
that handcuff time,
flowers with the souls of dead cops

Here are my hands
high above Central Park
pressed against the window glass
testing its tensile strength
I’m watching, just watching
salt in my eyes
as if I’ve been swimming in the Dead Sea

I stare into the face of a cast iron frying pan,
the pan my grandmother used
to quash my grandfather’s cognitive skills

I Make New Friends

Objects don’t speak to us
because we’re not listening.
I was swimming in a dirty lake
a lake fluffy with pollution
A bottle cap floated past and
whispered:
Leave my girl alone

A trout swam by and, in a Brooklyn accent,
much like my mother’s but deeper and gruffer,
philosophized: There’s plenty of fish in the sea
I asked him: Do you wish you were there,
instead of in this filthy lake?
“Where?” he asked
Don’t be dense, Trout, the sea
He said: No, I’m the only fish in this ruined pond,
which is actually a filled quarry,
and no one disturbs my blessed peace

Spiritual Appraisal

Another name, another identity
More dentistry
A fish
A metal fish
Now I announce to all that flows
to everything that stands majestic against the void:
I will never be ready

Bio
Mitchel’s poetry and short fiction has appeared in nearly seventy literary magazines, most recently The Examined Life, Memoir Journal, Marco Polo Arts Mag, and Haggard and Halloo, all published this Spring and Summer. His novel, Two-Headed Dog was published in April by Dirt e-books, founded by NY agent Gary Heidt.

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mitchell Grabois

  1. Nicole says:

    Beautifully imaginative! The story of the trout in the poem “I Make New Friends” reminds me of Brautigan’s “Trout Fishing in America”.

  2. vision791 says:

    Thanks for sharing your poetry with us this past week.

Comments are closed.