Anthony Ward Returns

Gravity

My world’s compressed around me,
Warping my environment,
So that those in my orbit
Keep their distance
Through fear of being pulled down
Beyond the horizon of events
That draws me into myself
As they watch me disintegrate into darkness.
While to me everything appears normal.

The Perpetrator

I petrify myself.
Beat myself up.
Bully myself into submission.
Humiliate and ridicule myself in front of everyone
As I put myself down,
Make myself feel incapable and incompatible-
Punishing myself for no reason.
I’m afraid of myself?
Afraid of what I may do,
Of what may happen if I try anything?
Why am I so frightened?
For, after all, who is this bully?
Am I not bigger and better than him?

Bird

Perched on the edge of a great precipice,
My feet placed firmly on the ledge,
Wondering whether I can fly/
Worrying that I will fall.
Do I take this leap of faith,
And let go?
Throw myself to the mercy of the winds-
End up where I will?
Even if it means plunging the depths
As I drown in my fears?
Or do I remain where I am,
Admiring the view?

Defiance

My dreams have been shattered,
Kicked in by those who throw stones,
Splintering my mind into fragments of who I was-
When I thought myself unbreakable,
Now fragile and brittle,
Cracked and open,
The wind crashing through me,
Standing defiantly in my frame.

Black Hole

I sit in the darkness
Drawing from light
Able to see from a distance
What’s happening beyond-
My world disappearing
Around me,
My mind vacuumed by pulses
Radiating my space,
As I’m sucked into a network of tubes,
Travelling through time in an instant,
Culminating where I started.

Pandora

If we were to know why we existed,
Would we be able to determine what we existed for?
Would there be reason to exist,
If we knew what that reason was?
Could we be certain of the answer,
If there was no question of uncertainty?
Would we endeavour to live
If life was not a problem?

Possession

O’ where is my Life?
Did I lose it?
Did I leave it behind?
Did I ever have it?
O’ where is my life?
Why isn’t it here?
Where it should be?
Instead of wherever it is?
Was I given a life?
Was it taken from me?
And to whomever took it,
Where was yours?

Aging

Slow and steady brings longevity,
Fast and loose nurtures brevity,
As you find yourself racing time,
Sprinting towards the winning line.
But before you do, you’re feeling spent,
Wondering where the time has went.
While it leaves you lagging in its wake,
Catching up with what’s at stake.

Bio
Anthony Ward has been writing in his spare time for a number of years. He has been published in a number of literary magazines including The Autumn Sound, The Faircloth Review, Word Gumbo, Four and Twenty, Drunk Monkeys, Underground, Torrid Literature Journal and The Rusty Nail, amongst others.

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Anthony Ward Returns

  1. Diana E Backhouse says:

    Oh dear, Anthony, you do sound rather depressed or am I reading too much into these pieces of yours. I hope that I am!

  2. Joe says:

    Wonderful poems, very nicely done!

  3. vision791 says:

    Always a pleasure to have you entertain us.

Comments are closed.