Laura Zucca-Scott Returns

Tomorrow’s Colors

Wrapped around in a blanket of sadness
Warm and comforting
So easy to fall asleep
If only I could

Indigo blue is the color of today
And tomorrow I cannot see
I hang on to the feelings
That prove I am alive
Because pain is better than nothing

But when I gingerly lift the blanket
I see a smile
I see kindness in a stranger
I know I need to go
And tomorrow’s colors will come

Until the Day

Your voice hurts my ears

I never wanted to hate
Maybe I don’t
But my ears
Cringe
Unwanted reflex
Of my very being

I do not want to hate
I just want time
Time to heal
Time to laugh
And run on silky grass
And rough golden sand

For a brief moment of bliss
The quiet
Soothes my soul
Then you begin again
And music is my only salvation

Until that day
When I am running free
And the wind
Chases my hair

Tears Burn

Tears burn
They leave marks of unspoken truths
Forgotten promises
And great hopes

Tears adorn a child’s face
Like precious gems
They make an old person young
Speak of the world
Even when words cannot

Tears burn
Until they can dry

Bio:
Laura regards reading and writing as essential elements of life. Her poems have been published online and in several anthologies both in the USA and in Italy.

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.