Souvik Chakraborty

ASSURANCE

By Souvik Chakraborty

This is one of the coldest winters I’ve ever known,

And all its venomous stings, I silently endure.

The dull morning light brings neither joy nor hope,

But I don’t beg for it to end; I prepare for more.

I try to derive strength from the tortures inflicted;

When the biting cold cuts and stabs and hacks,

When my spinal fluid comes close to freezing,

I bite my lips and take it all – there’s no turning back.

I stay hidden from the sun, away from the blazing fire.

The caress of despair doesn’t bother me anymore.

I embrace the excruciating agony with open arms.

Nothing can break my strong resolve, of that I’m sure.

You should know by now that I do it only for you.

I want to let you know, want to make it clear.

That I’ll always be there for you, no matter what.

You’ll never get hurt, you have nothing to fear.

Bio
My name is Souvik Chakraborty and I am from Kolkata, India. I am an Engineer by profession and working for an Optical fiber and power conductor manufacturing organisation In Maharastra. Since my childhood, I wanted to become a poet. I have published a number of poems in print media in my native language Bengali, and now wish to see my works published in English in esteemed e – zines all over the world.
I have published a poem in voxpoetica.com. My hobbies include reading books, listening to rock music and debating.

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.