Nancy Scott McBride Debuts

Nancy Scott McBride studied poetry at NYU and worked as an editor on the New York Quarterly. She has been writing, publishing and giving readings of her work for many years.

DOVER BEACH

Once

my friend and fellow poet were

discussing Matthew Arnold’s famous poem,

how moving it is and how modern, though it was written in

the nineteenth century.

Do you know what the last line means? she asked.

Of course, I lied.

She was better educated and I sometimes resented it.

Swallow your pride, I urged myself whenever we talked,

ask her about the “ignorant armies” that “clash by night.”

But I never did, and now she has Parkinson’s and

can’t speak to me at all.

I could Google it of course,

or ask someone else, but I don’t.

That wouldn’t be fair to Peggy.

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nancy Scott McBride Debuts

  1. Jeanette Gallagher says:

    I like Dover Beach. It has so many feelings that all can relate to, if they’re honest! I hope the person in the poem can let go of the guilt! An honest and poignant poem – haunting.

Comments are closed.