Kelley Jean White

And So To Bed

 I hear your snores so steady all the time.

In sleep you speak some other name than mine.

Last night you said a whole long piece in rhyme.

Thought I’d remember. I lost that line.

I try to click the switch on your bedside light.

I think you’re definitely sleeping tight.

Your fist grabs my wrist as if to fight.

I speak three words. My love won’t bite.

Why don’t you wrap around me like a spoon?

Why don’t you keep me warm in this cold room?

Your back is turned, I’m lost in gloom.

Please wake half way. Come hug me soon.

Dry

Babe, I don’t wanna be your ocean

I couldn’t handle all those waves

I can’t take all your commotion

I’m just a little drop of rain, boy

Just a little drop of rain

Baby I’d rather be your river

Winding through your valleys and your trees

Then maybe you’d stay and live here

Stead of flying over me, no

Instead of flying over me

But darlin’ I’m just a little hollow

And you’re a dirty little creek

I know you’re leaving me tomorrow

Empty bed and lonely sheets

Empty bed and lonely sheets

Bio

Pediatrician Kelley White worked in inner city Philadelphia and now works in rural New Hampshire. Her poems have appeared in journals including Exquisite Corpse, Rattle and JAMA.  Her most recent books are TOXIC ENVIRONMENT (Boston Poet Press) and TWO BIRDS IN FLAME (Beech River Books.) She received a 2008 Pennsylvania Council on the Arts grant. kelleywhitemd@yahoo.com

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kelley Jean White

  1. Nikon says:

    Loved them; my favorite is the first one, though: “And So To Bed.”

Comments are closed.