Dr. Ralph Monday

Ralph Monday is Associate Professor of English at Roane State Community College in Harriman, TN., and published in over 50 journals. A chapbook, All American Girl and Other Poems, was published in July 2014. A book Lost Houses and American Renditions is scheduled for publication, May 2015 by Aldrich Press.

 

These Things that Be

Neither moon, or stars, or sun suffice.

They may as well be a child’s coloring

book stuck on a wall.

Drinking wine from old bottles on the

colonnade while the young girls stroll

by, is no more than the dark end

of a lonesome movie.

 

I move through these reels in the same

manner that century old radio signals

dissipate in space, traveling at the speed

of light toward some hoped for receiver.

 

I wonder if these thoughts or musings

like them eventually come to all—maybe

at Thanksgiving dinner or in corridors

full of bright mirrors that blind with a

thousand motes of reflected fragments

gathered together into a letter of life.

 

See, I would write here that I lost my

faith as a child at Easter when the only

resurrection was a father’s hand lifted

by beer toward my mother in the bedroom.

 

I stuffed my belief in love away in a cornfield

when I thought of another between your

legs.

 

Or my uncle dead in a tangled wreck on

the interstate somewhere in Ohio, and I

knew at eleven the burden of mortality.

 

My grandmother wandering senile,

gray headed, silvered mind, from

window to window searching for

the dead husband like retrieving

copper pennies from a wishing well.

 

I can find no bright lamp to splash

across the pages, only time like a

rotted stump measuring cadence over

worn stones leaving the paper wet

and muddied, blurred movements

like soft, melted crayons,

reminder that all eventually

color outside the lines.

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.