Scott Thomas Outlar Debuts

Lacking Voice

I long for a time that never was.

I’ve been seeking after an illusion all my life.

The truth is just a crashing wave…a rise…a fall.

 

All my eggs were smashed while still in the basket

but at least I had a final scrambled meal to devour.

 

Luck has nothing to do with fate

but choice has everything to do with the fall.

 

Life is a question without answer.

Love is a song without a voice.

I always try to say too much

but never wind up speaking my mind.

 

I’ll lay down softly in a field of poppies.

I’ll meet you later on the right side of the throne.

I’ll dive in after if you start drowning

but will likely end up remaining in the depths ever after.

 

My heart is a fire without a gauge.

My mind is a bomb that already engaged the target.

There is nothing here except the rubble.

There is no one home except for thieves.

 

I tried my hand at being honest

but all it brought me were these empty palms.

 

Platitudes toward Paradise

It has been said

a time or two

that the early bird

gets the worm,

so I’m up with the dawn

to dive into the dirt,

rip into the soil,

and tear apart the Earth

until I get mine.

 

I’ve heard it spoken

by three or thirty

that nothing is ever easy,

so I’m breathing deeply

until perfect mindfulness

completely engulfs my psyche

and I become able

to laugh at and be thankful

for every little challenge

that helps toughen my resolve

toward the enlightenment I seek.

 

Some people sing

about how chaos leads to order

in this experience

full of pain and pleasure,

and I couldn’t agree more,

so I raise my voice on high

with the symphony of the spheres,

praising this precious life

for all its ups and downs

as I rise and fall

in rhythm with each stage

that guides me along

toward the fate etched upon my heart.

Bio:

Scott Thomas Outlar spends the hours flowing and fluxing with the tide of the Tao River while laughing at and/or weeping over life’s existential nature. His words have appeared recently in venues such as Clockwise Cat, Oddball Magazine, Calliope Magazine, Tuck Magazine, Dissident Voice, and The First Line. Links to his published works can be found at 17numa.wordpress.com.

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.