Scott Outlar

Seeking Solace

 

I miss the feeling of being in love.

It has been too long since my heart soared.

 

My lips are dry and chapped,

longing for the sweet kiss

from a woman

who can bring some moisture into my world.

 

I miss the genuine earnestness of pillow talk,

of having someone I trust beside me

to confide in, and to whom I can offer my ready ear

when she needs a shoulder to lean on.

 

My thoughts are tired and lazy,

lost in the idle twists and turns

of my own lonely consciousness.

 

I miss the innocence of romance,

the electricity of fingertip caresses,

the comfort of companionship,

and the primal energy of a burgeoning relationship.

 

My emotions are ragged and torn,

seeking the solace

of a merciful angel

who can sew my spirit back into whole cloth.

 

I miss the feeling of being in love.

It has been too long since my heart was full.

 

Resistance to Help

 

These burdens

just bore me

while guilt hangs heavy

in a crucified mind

lingering over memories

that never seem to rise

enough to escape the pressure

 

This truth

is too poignant

for a heart so stagnant

in a broken moment

holding steady in the mud

that swallows lifeless limbs

until muck is up to the neck

 

This sky

is black cancer

on a Sunday Hallelujah

with the chaos whispering

tiny little lies

into weathered forsaken ears

about the next fall

that cannot be escaped

 

Your new wave

crashes too hard

when I’m not ready

to swim the full distance

back to a steady shore

even though the siren calls

with all her love

to try and wake me up

 

Bio:

Scott Thomas Outlar spends the hours flowing and fluxing with the tide of the Tao River while laughing at and/or weeping over life’s existential nature. His words have appeared recently in venues such as Clockwise Cat, Oddball Magazine, Calliope Magazine, Tuck Magazine, Dissident Voice, and The First Line. Links to his published works can be found at 17numa.wordpress.com.

 

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.