Allison Grayhurst Debuts

Remember

Remember the end, for it was the ripping open

of innocence and fairy hope. It was a necessary

falling, a compacting of all the extremities,

a slicing off of unworkable dreams.

That end towers within you and remains a pinnacle

of freedom. Though freedom is sometimes

harsh and cold, it is also the place of only

true attachments, and so, there are so few,

but enough to sing about. It is worth that year

of difficult breathing, worth the reformation of

your core. You hold your own. You are

remade and powerful. Child awoken to

the world. Child, still as beautiful

as when you were born – ethereal, holier

than us all.

 

My Place

At one end are the setting shapes

of friendships left behind

like the breaking of a mug

or a foggy window.

I leave that end and hold no other.

I stand on the crust of a sandy shore.

Together I swam through the salty flavour

with a dolphin by my side. Alone,

I leave my companion and the waves that serve me no more.

There are things I wish for like

pineapple and starfish fruit. There are

times I believe in the hot sands, believe

in the beautiful face of loneliness. I wave

at the birds and they follow me. I lay still

and the air has filled my thirst. On the

grassy green beyond I know one day I will

move. I know of proud children smiling at the

stars. I know there is nothing that can kill

the large immaculate Love. I died with my flesh.

I am born a new way, cut off from last-year’s persona.

I look to the water – its depths

no longer take me in, its blue is but a shallow tone. I close my eyes

and rains descend like an artist’s stroke,

making patterns on the naked land.

Bio:

Allison Grayhurst is a member of the League of Canadian Poets. She has over 550 poems published in more than 275 international journals and anthologies. Her book Somewhere Falling was published by Beach Holme Publishers in 1995. Since then she has published eleven other books of poetry and six collections with Edge Unlimited Publishing. Prior to the publication of Somewhere Falling she had a poetry book published, Common Dream, and four chapbooks published by The Plowman. Her poetry chapbook The River is Blind was published by Ottawa publisher above/ground press in December 2012. In 2014 her chapbook Surrogate Dharma was published by Kind of a Hurricane Press, Barometric Pressures Author Series in October 2014. More recently, she has a chapbook Currents pending publication this August with Pink.Girl.Ink. Press. She lives in Toronto with her family. She also sculpts, working with clay; http://www.allisongrayhurst.com

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.