Nancy Scott McBride

SNAKE

 

When we first moved into our old house,

we found an awesome pile of snake skins

in an ancient underground crawl-space.

“Looks like they’ve been here since the year one,”

my husband said with a chuckle.

“Eeeew,” I said with a shudder.

Next spring I hauled some fertilizer outside to spread on the garden.

As I dug bare-handed into the powdery stuff, I felt something of form and substance in there; something utterly foreign and loathsome to me.

And though my mind couldn’t identify it, I believe my body recalled that long-ago garden and the touch of the first woman’s hand on a serpent who talked some trash to her.

SSSSSAAAAAAAKE!!!!! I screamed.

 

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.