Allison Grayhurst

A Matter of Faith

I have believed more in the magic of the stars

than in God’s miraculous hand.

I have buried my head in the inevitable pattern,

crossed channels with the whisperings of the devil

and put my money on the line.

Now I still sway, maiming my faith with fear.

I reach for the roots, then tug a leaf.

I stand tiptoe to see beyond the barrier of fate

and am left with the wall and difficult breathing.

I call out be released consciously

from this dog-pit struggle.

I look beyond the future

into the circle.

I cry out for someone,

then open my eyes.

 

Quebec City

On plains of autumn green

where hardly bird or squirrel roam,

the dream we find by holding hands

is like a wave of sunshine

undulating on our brows.

 

On streets of winding stone, old

as medusa’s smile, old as wounded

pride resting on an enemy’s throne,

we laugh at the struggling day, mouths

full of kisses and a hunger soothed to sleep

by so many unforced smiles.

 

Up stairs once crushed by cannon ball fire

we lift our limbs to see where the city wall

extends, we are both thinking

of the good day behind, both sniffing

the devouring scent of unforgotten history.

 

Evening drifts through our hair.

We are alone, like all babes are and lovers too

who have perfectly communed

beneath this Northern sky.

 

 

Allison Grayhurst is a member of the League of Canadian Poets. She has over 550 poems published in more than 275 international journals and anthologies. Her book Somewhere Falling was published by Beach Holme Publishers in 1995. Since then she has published eleven other books of poetry and six collections with Edge Unlimited Publishing. She lives in Toronto with her family. She also sculpts, working with clay; http://www.allisongrayhurst.com

 

 

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.