Laura Zucca-Scott and Mitchell Grabois

For the next two weeks Cavalcade of Stars will do something different. Laura Zucca-Scott and Mitchell Grabois will share top billing together.

 

An eighty-eight year old gentleman shared this story with Laura while she traveled in Italy by bus.

 

Traveling

By

Laura Zucca-Scott

 

I remember when

I was traveling around the world

Just a backpack, a blanket, and my dreams

 

Outside Rome

Near a farmhouse on a chilly fall day

I was sleeping under old stars

After a long walk

 

A German Shepard looked me in the eyes

I should have been afraid

Yet we fell asleep, tranquil

My hand holding his paw

 

Laura Zucca-Scott is a bilingual writer and a professor at Blackburn College, Carlinville, IL. Her poems appear in several literary journals and magazines including Cavalcade of Stars, Vox Poetica, and Vortex.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

This is the first of three Flash Fictions this year for Mitchell Grabois

Obesity and Fulfillment

 

I create midnight poetry readings. I litter the city with flyers, yellow, pink and light blue, the colors of baby’s breath, reassuring, comforting colors. But in the end, I am the only one who attends.

During the Independence Day parade, I scored off the Frito-Lay truck, bags and bags of chips. I was faster than the old farmer who was handing out samples. My hands flew like three-card monte. He was a potato. I was a potato slicer. Man cannot live on chips alone.

The wooden folding chairs from the thirties that the county bought for audiences after a stage was added to the back of the one-room schoolhouse seem to ask: Where are the children? Where is the audience? Why are you sitting in the dark mumbling obscurities to yourself and calling it art and fulfillment?

I ran to the House of Flavors truck. Ice cream flowed out as on a Charlie Chaplin conveyer belt or an I Love Lucy production line. We were all jolly as we mind-melded with obesity. Live long and prosper, we told each other, though we knew we would do neither.

More of us are wearing suspenders, I notice. More massage therapists are charging by the pound. It’s cynical and callous, but they do it anyway. Like the Gold Rush, any one of them can get rich off one vein.

 

Mitchell Krockmalnik Grabois has had over eight hundred of his poems and fictions appear in literary magazines in the U.S. and abroad, including CAVALCADEOFSTARS. He has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize for work published in 2012, 2013, and 2014. His novel, Two-Headed Dog, based on his work as a clinical psychologist in a state hospital, is available for Kindle and Nook, or as a print edition. He lives in Denver.

 

 

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.