Holly Day

Lost Summer

The horses would let him drop onto them

from an overhanging tree branch

when it was finally warm again, when we let the horses

in the front yard. I’d always be the Indian

in an obstacle course between the gray stacks of

grain silos and weathered, tilted barns.

 

He married young, so young, and his wife

a twenty-year-old maniac drove her truck with a kitchen knife laying in her lap

told me he had confessed to being in love with me

when we were out in the stable feeding baby goats new grass.

 

I fell in love with Jason because the horses did, I think

dreamt of him holding me in his strong, sunburned arms

his wife tried to kill me the first time she met me

he had told her all sorts of quiet things about me.

I tried to explain that things happen when kids grow up together

my cousin, the cowboy, the boy I ran screaming after

she just didn’t want to listen.

 

 Inhale 

my daughter lies in her crib screaming

some formless, aimless rage and I

suck angrily at my cigarette say

I’m glad that I’m going to die someday

picture her crying silent reminisce

over me in a coffin, lying back, eyes closed

I wonder if it’s me she hates so much I

don’t understand a word she’s saying

 

In the Seat Beside Me

I can feel the knots

the odd angles, the bones,

want to tell her to run, run, run

but deep inside, I know she will just go home.

She sits so close to me, pressed against her seat

the damage rippling under her thin skin

hands shaking.

 

Holly Day has taught writing classes at the Loft Literary Center in Minnesota, since 2000. Her poetry has recently appeared in Oyez Review, SLAB, and Gargoyle, while her recently published books include Music Theory for Dummies (3rd edition), Piano All-in-One for Dummies, The Book Of, and Nordeast Minneapolis: A Historylalena@bitstream.net

 

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.