Mitch Grabois

Popsicles

 

It’s cold and rainy on the carnival midway. Only the masochists are out, and the desperate, the recovering alcoholics who are terrified by the idea of going into a warm bar, the meth heads who have blown up their homes, blown up their mothers who’d been sleeping on the couch with aggravated expressions on their faces.

I’m there with my kids. I buy them blue popsicles and they eat them in the rain, avoiding mud holes when they can.  I’m fulfilling my responsibility, teaching them about life.

When we get home, soggy, muddy, and they’ve gone to bed, I turn on my Latino laptop. The tiny fan keeps me warm. I have a hundred messages from people wanting me to like them. I don’t even know them, but I like them. I like most people.

Out of all the people I’ve met in the last five years, only one stands out as obnoxious, a dwarf albino epileptic. I didn’t dislike him for any of those qualities, only for his insufferable arrogance.

 

 

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.