J. D. DeHart Debuts

 

Gulf

There is no real gulf

between us.  It was pretend

all along.  More like I made

it, fashioned this gulf out

of my perception, but the reality

never followed up.

I was never separated, there was

no river, no flood, only

my conscience and its

unnecessary weight.

 

Bits

I’m sure there are bit

of me in you like the pigment

splatters in an iris

 

I’m sure that what I say

could find its movement

along your tongue, too

 

A dynamic and close

and far away, of self and other,

on display.

 

En Masse

We move forward, a thousand

legs lifting then planting

at the same time.

 

Automatons in the breeze.

 

We grow diligently and with

great direction toward the looming

sun.  Give us water, our mouths say.

 

Animal Inside

There’s a caged animal

where my heart should

be, bared teeth where kindness

should exist, maybe formerly

took up residence.  Who knows.

I have to try to stop

licking my paws.

 

JD DeHart is a writer and teacher.  He has recently been nominated for Best of the Net, and his chapbook, The Truth About Snails, is available on Amazon.

 

 

 

 

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.