Nancy Scott-McBride

BILLIE JEAN

 

Once, as I was leaving a 7-Eleven,

I collided with a woman coming in.

“Well hey there Billie Jean,” she laughed, “watch where you’re going, girl.”

Catching my blank stare, she said,

“You ARE Billie, aren’t you? You look exactly like her.”

I didn’t answer, stunned that I’d been given a name for the woman who lived in my mind and haunted my dreams, the woman who’s all I’m not, the woman I’d like to be.

She’s an extrovert and I’m the opposite, a risk-taker where I’m timid, the life of the party while I’m often the death of it.

Billie Jean does as she pleases. I try too hard to please others.

She’s a tough talkin’ mama. I can’t say boo to a goose.

Billie doesn’t age. I’ve stopped counting birthdays.

She’s the light of the world to my dark night of the soul.

Billie drives a yellow convertible I was too shy to buy.

She’s behind the wheel right now, cruising in another reality.

The top is down and her red hair’s a-flyin’.

The radio’s blasting a bluegrass tune about love and loss and hooch and hormones and she’s singing at the top of her lungs, not caring at all that she’s out of control and over the limit and courting a speeding ticket.

 

 

 

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nancy Scott-McBride

  1. bobbietroy says:

    Love it,, Nancy! Great portrait, great story.

  2. Sandy Patton says:

    Wonderful imagery – you painted a perfect picture with your words.

Comments are closed.