Laura Zucca-Scott

It Never Stopped

The rain never stopped
It rained in the early dawn
Beating the light
The cold never eased
Chilling the bones a
Crashing the breath
It rained on laughter
Soaking resilient smiles
The ground was sodden
But the rain never stopped
Until there was no place to hide
For the young and the old
A man said,
The flowers will protect us
Looking into his child’s eyes
A new life was born

 

You Are Still You

I watch you fall asleep
sea green eyes closing
and a tired smile

Just a year ago
we were walking by the harbor
discussing endless stories
of a life we share
breathing salt and sun
in the early morning

I wish I could make you strong again
and help you fight your enemy
I wish I could tell you
all I want to say

That I remember every moment
learning how to ride a bike
and bleeding all over your shirt
when I fell playing soccer
with the big kids
When you helped me climb the fence
to the best playground there ever was
my eyes half closed from fear
We raced the waves so high and strong
And read countless books about honor and hurt

But most of all
I want to tell you
That you are still you
And I am still here

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.