Frank Adams

Relationships

I fail at relationships.  It’s what I do, have always done.
I lack an explanation.  I have good intentions; I respond
promptly to telephone calls, e-mails and text messages.
I show-up for meetings on time, dressed appropriately,
and I pay my share.  I do not argue or make a fuss.
I mail out thank you notes, send condolences, follow
the rules of etiquette.  But, truth is, I am not good at
being with people, never have been.  I am now and have
forever been an outsider, an alien.  I believe I may be
from another planet.  Sent here as an observer, or as
an exile for reasons I can’t recall.  Either would be fine,
if only those who sent me, would check in once and a
while to let me know I am where I am supposed to be
and doing okay.

 

There Was No One There

Always
I feel their hands on me.

Always
they touch private places.
They hold me down
molest me and more.
Tears stream down my face.
My body burns red hot.
I want them to stop
and I want them to continue.

Always
they say; don’t tell,
don’t say a word,
this is your fault,
you wanted this,
and I remained mute
at their command.

Biography:
Frank Adams is a Lambda Literary Foundation Fellow in Poetry.  His poems have appeared in various on-line and print venues including: Down-go Sun; Iris; Glitterwolf; Chelsea Station; Q Review; Vox Poetica and in Between: New Gay Poetry.

Frank Adams
isom606@hotmail.com

About vision791

Pushcart nominee Jeanette Cheezum has been published on several online writing sites and in fifteen Anthology books and four poetry books. Three of these books have made the New York Times Best Sellers list. Awarded The Helium Networks Premium Writer’s Badge, Bronze Creative Writing Award and a Marketplace Writers award. Recently she has published thirteen ebooks at Barnes and Noble and Amazon. You may find a list of some of her work at www.hamptonroadswriters.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

